My baby is fully engaged with the world now: She smiles, laughs, and holds babbling conversations with me. And she’s on the move.

From experience, at 8 months, she can roll to her tummy and back again, sit without my help, and support her weight with her legs well enough to bounce when I hold her, using a raking grasp to pull objects closer and can hold toys and move them from one hand to another.

That is not all; she is more sensitive to my tone of voice and heeds my warning when I tell her “no.” She also knows her name (Gillian) now and turns to look at me when I call her.Gillian at 8 months

Hide and seek is our favorite game and she enjoys finding partially hidden objects. If I move a toy in front of her, she follows it closely with her eyes. Watching herself in a mirror is sure to delight her.

Now here comes my role.

Babies thrive on the interactions she has with the parents and integrating plays into everything you do with her is crucial, I do every day. Shower her with smiles and cuddles, and reply when she babbles to encourage her communication skills. Read together every day, naming the objects you see in books and around you. I love to sing “Baa-baa black sheep” every evening.

What we can do is give them lots of opportunities to strengthen their new physical skills by helping them sit and position them to play on both stomach and back. Before my baby started crawling, I have to make the house and environment safe for exploring, providing a variety of age-appropriate toys and household objects (like wooden spoons or cartons) to explore but not dolls( I have my reasons).

I am left with working on establishing a routine for sleeping, feeding, and playtime for my sweetheart.

Children grow up at different paces, Gillian is 8 months now. Let’s share experiences please.

